Books to the Sky

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.” ― Arnold Lobel

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

on January 26, 2015

8490112

I first saw Daughter of Smoke and Bone on the blog sleeps with notebooks. The description was intriguing but the wait list at the library was significant. I’m glad that I was patient because I tremendously enjoyed reading this book. 

 

Karou is quite skilled at telling the truth in a way that seems untrue. A wry smile, a tilt of the head, and no one thinks twice about the outlandish story. No, I don’t dye my hair blue, it grows that way. Yes, the creatures in my drawing journal are real, their stories are true, and they are my family.

Karou is a human girl raised by chimera in a home set apart. One door leading into dozens of cities in the human world for Karou, another, off limits, door for her foster father Brimstone.  Although she has moved out into her own apartment in the city of Prague, Karou runs errands for Brimstone. These errands have Karou dealing with some sketchy traders, in sometimes dangerous situations, to bring back teeth. All kinds of teeth: Human, tiger, crocodile, elephant tusks. Karou has no idea why Brimstone needs the teeth and he has no desire to tell her. Karou has a itching curiosity to know about the teeth, about that other door, and most of all about herself. Where she came from, why Brimstone raised her, and who she is.

I love everything about this book, especially Laini Taylor’s turn of phrase and descriptions.

This was her life: magic and shame and secrets and teeth and a deep, nagging hollow at the center of herself where something was most certainly missing.

Creamy and leggy, with long azure hair and the eyes of a silent-movie star, she moved like a poem and smiled like a sphinx.

The story is unique and the characters are truly interesting. Definitely a trilogy where I want the actual physical books sitting on a shelf in case I want to read them again. And I’m really hoping that as the third book wraps up, it will defy the words from the frontispiece:

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.

3 responses to “Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  1. I still love this book! Can you believe I have yet to read the rest of the series though? Work and writing keep me busy…but now you’ve got me thinking of Taylor’s fabulous voice again. Guess I’ve got a date with the library. 🙂

    • Well, you have been busy. 🙂 I’m waiting for the third one from the library. The second has just as much beautiful imagery. “I am a priestess of a sandcastle in a land of dust and starlight.” Gives me chills.

  2. DLAnderson says:

    I’m going to read this!! It sounds like the perfect book for a February read. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

